Why should someone delete their Facebook account?

Permanently delete your Facebook account completely - this is how it works

Panagiotis Kolokythas

Would you like to permanently delete your Facebook profile? We explain how it works and what you have to pay attention to.

The way Facebook handles user data is repeatedly criticized, so it is only logical that many people want to say goodbye to the social network. But how do you as a Facebook member delete your Facebook profile permanently and completely?

Table of Contents:

How to delete your Facebook profile

This is relatively easy to do if you know where to look in the Facebook settings. To do this, log in to Facebook with your account details and then click on the "?" Icon in the top bar. Now select "Help area" here. Or even easier: you click on this link right away. You will get the following view:

EnlargeManage your account - in the help section of Facebook

In the Facebook help area, click on "Management of your account" in the left bar and then on "Delete or deactivate your account". The function for deleting the Facebook account can be found in the answer to the question "How do I delete my account permanently?".

Alternatively, you can delete your Facebook profile directly via the Facebook app for Android or iOS. Go to "Settings and Privacy" and then under "Your Facebook Information" the entry "Account Ownership and Control". You can now temporarily deactivate or permanently delete the profile via "Deactivation and deletion".

Back up all Facebook data before deleting - this is how it works

First, Facebook expressly points out that the permanent deletion cannot be undone. "In this case, you will not be able to reactivate your account later or restore the content you added to that account," warns Facebook. If you want to save and download photos or posts before deleting your Facebook account, you can do this using the "Download a copy of your Facebook data" function in the Facebook settings. On this page, Facebook explains in detail how to do this.

Once this is done, you can now proceed to the actual deletion of the Facebook account. The corresponding link can be found in the answer under "How do I permanently delete my account?" at the end of the first paragraph under "let us know". This link now leads to this Facebook page, where you can delete your Facebook account.

Facebook account deletion takes up to 90 days

After clicking on the "Delete my account" button, you initially only apply for the deletion of your Facebook account. According to Facebook, it can now take up to 90 days until all posts, photos, status reports, etc. have actually been deleted from all Facebook servers. During this time it is no longer possible to access the information.

However, not all of the information on Facebook is actually deleted in the process. "However, some information about you on Facebook is not stored in your account. For example, a friend may still see messages from you even after you have deleted your account. Such information will be retained even after you delete your account." , so Facebook.

Incidentally, the deletion process does not start immediately. After clicking on "Delete my account", Facebook initially waits a few days, giving the Facebook user the opportunity to change his mind again. The deletion request is automatically canceled as soon as the Facebook user logs in with his account again. But again the warning: As soon as the deletion request is actually carried out, it is no longer possible to reactivate the account and restore the content.

Delete other Facebook accounts

What if a Facebook member cannot initiate the deletion of the Facebook account himself? For this, too, Facebook offers the right functions for different cases. In all cases, Facebook employees check the applications and then decide whether a Facebook account is actually to be deleted:

Case 1: Relatives of people or parents of children who are over 13 years old can submit a request to delete a Facebook account here.

Case 2: According to the terms of use, children under the age of 13 are not allowed to log into Facebook. Parents whose child has registered anyway can use this link to report their Facebook account to Facebook and request deletion.

Case 3: Law enforcement authorities may request the deletion of a Facebook account via a special link.

Facebook account: deactivation instead of deletion - this is how it works

Alternatively, instead of deleting a Facebook account, you can also request that Facebook be deactivated. This function offers the Facebook user the opportunity to leave the social network temporarily and to come back later.

According to Facebook, the following happens when a Facebook account is deactivated:

  • People can no longer see the information on your Facebook timeline.

  • People on Facebook will no longer be able to search for you

  • Some information, such as messages you sent, may still be visible to others.

  • All account information (e.g. friends, photos, interests) is saved in case you want to return to Facebook.

EnlargeHere you can temporarily deactivate your Facebook account

The deactivation of the Facebook account works as follows:

  1. Click on the "Arrow down" icon in the upper right corner and select "Settings".

  2. Now click on "Security" in the left column.

  3. Now select "Deactivate your account" and follow the further steps displayed.

Note: The deactivation of the Facebook account takes place immediately. However, some information, such as messages you sent to friends, remains visible to others.

Reactivate Facebook account

If you have deactivated your Facebook account, you will have to reactivate it later if you want to use the account again. Simply log in to Facebook again with your email address and password. The account will then be automatically restored. Important: You must have access to the mail account of the mail address used.