Which book does the New Testament begin

New Testament

An overview of the New Testament books

The 27 scriptures of the New Testament unfold what Jesus Christ means for the individual and for the salvation of the whole world.

After the death and resurrection of Jesus, Christians began to share his words and deeds. Because they believed that the end of the world was imminent, they did not consider it necessary to put this down in writing for the first two decades. The first Christians naturally used those of Judaism as their holy scriptures.

The oldest written parts of the New Testament are the letters of the Apostle Paul. Then the narrative writings emerged, which, however, build on older traditions - some only passed on orally, some already fixed in writing. However, the focus of the New Testament writings is always on the message of the cross and resurrection of Jesus (cf. 1 Corinthians 15: 3).

Like the Old, the New Testament can be divided into several groups of books:

History books

The four Gospels and the Acts of the Apostles tell of Jesus Christ and his ministry and of the first churches. But they do not want to give a purely historical report, but rather invite people to believe in Jesus as the Savior of men longed for by his people.


This group contains 21 letters written by the apostles themselves or under their names to various Christian communities and to individuals. The largest and most important collection is made up of the letters of the Apostle Paul.

The revelation

The Revelation of John is in the tradition of the prophetic books. Above all, it depicts apocalyptic visions of the end of this world, combined with the hope of a new heaven and a new earth.