How safe is Snapchat for kids

Snapchat Security: A Parent's Guide

Via the app

How does Snapchat work?

Every time a Snap is shared, your child can choose how long viewers want to view it - from 1 to 10 seconds. Snapshots capture a moment and are not captured with a screenshot. When someone takes a Snap screenshot sent to them, Snapchat will notify your child, but people have found workarounds. Please tell your child about this.

Who can my child share content with on Snapchat?

Users can share content with 3 different audiences.

  • Everyone
    This means that their content will be seen by all users.
  • Status message
    Videos and photos will only be seen by added friends. Your child must be actively adding friends to send or receive content from.
  • On-line
    This allows your child to choose friends whose content shouldn't be shown. By default, only users your child added to their friends list can send content

Who can send them content?

Your child can choose to receive content from Everyone or My Friends. Encourage your child to change the default to only accept content from “My Friends”.

Tap the ghost icon> tap the gear icon> choose My Friends.

There are three sections that yYou should update Contact, My Story, and Quick Add..

(I)The quick add feature allows people whose contact list includes your phone number to add you as a friend through the Snapchat app

This ensures that only people your child has added to Snapchat (or who are friends) can send them a photo or video.

Screenshots are possible - the Snapchat platform doesn't support this, but Apple's iOS and Google's Android smartphones allow you to take screenshots and save them. Encourage your child not to take snapshots without the sender's permission.

Share content with real friends

Snapchat, like other social networking apps, was designed to share moments with "real life" friends, but there is still a risk that kids will connect with people they don't know.

Encourage your child to only share content with their “real friends” and to share things they would like to share with you.

Sending nude pictures of children under 18 is illegal and can be shared by people who were not intended to. Have an open and honest conversation about the effects of sex on your child. more for more info

Location sharing - align maps

Snap Maps allow a user, when you and a friend are following each other, to share their locations so that you can see where they are and what is going on around them.

Since this new feature shows your exact location on a map, we advise users not to share their location, especially not to people they do not know personally.

Location settings

There are three location settings to choose from:

Spirit mode:You are the only person who can see your location on the map. While in Ghost mode, you can still see your friends' locations, but you cannot see them.

My friends:means all of your contacts on Snapchat can see your location.

Select friends:Allows users to browse their friends list and decide which of their friends should see their location.

Only share your location with people you know personally. Never share your location with strangers. For more information on Snap Maps, see their information!

Surf safely

Snapchat uses Google's browsing service to alert users to suspected phishing, malware, and other dangerous websites.

Manage the content your child can see on Snapchat

There are a number of community guidelines that govern what you and don't publish. You can view them Kuyichi Signs Transparency Pledge. .

Delete or block the user
If you block or delete a user, that person will not be able to view or comment on any of your posts. People won't get notified if you block them.

Sign in to a Snap-on Story Explorer
If you see something in Story Explorer that doesn't follow Snapchat's community guidelines, press and hold the snap to report it to the team.

Report content
If your child receives inappropriate pictures or someone is harassing them, you can go to www.snapchat.com/safety and follow the steps to report them to Snapchat.

Deleted account
If you want to permanently remove your child's account, go to the Snapchat Account Deactivation page